Kitchen Sink Optional Bean Salad

beany feta saladOkay, so this is the kind of recipe that comes about when you have an entrée like hotdogs or hamburgers, and you are really tired of french fries, and coleslaw, and all the usual stuff you attach to such a meal.

So you start going through the pantry and pulling stuff out.

And this is what you come up with.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tbsp of sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 c green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 c roasted red pepper, chopped
  • 3 scallions, sliced
  • 1 tbsp pickled jalapeños, chopped
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 c feta cheese, crumbled
  • olive oil, about 1/4 – 1/3 of a cup
  • handful of parsley, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Mix everything together.
  2. Serves best at room temperature.

SERVES: 4

NOTES: Feel free to add or subtract stuff as you like. You could substitute the jalapeños for Kalamata olives for instance. Or throw in some zucchini. Or radishes. Whatever you have on hand will pretty much work.

SOURCE: Sherry Peyton

 

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Sink Optional Bean Salad

  1. Hi Sherry!
    I’m glad I found you on JAP and ever since signed up for your newsletter which I enjoy and find quite helpful. Thank you for your wonderful & easy recipes.
    Yesterday I made a salad very similar to the above. I had a party on Thursday Aug.15th with 20 guests. Cause it was too hot to cook I had a salad bar with 3 different dressings and a dessert bar with homemade ice cream cake and cut up fresh fruit served with an easy creamy dip. Well as you can imagine I had some leftovers so yesterday I mixed my legume salad (I had seperately boiled dry lentals & beans-cans are not commonly used here in Greece )with some corn, green & red bell peppers, chopped tomatoes, diced chicken, crumbled feta cheese, crumbled bacon, parsley and dressed it up with a slight garlicy vinegrette dressing. As I have been cooking for the past 45 yrs, mostly with my eyes and taste as we say here I really didn’t have the excact amounts of the ingredients. Now thanks to you I can figure that out. I’d like to post my salad on JAP as I don’t have a picture (forgot to take one lol) could I use yours? and I’ll link back here. Thanks once again for all your wonderful recipes & ideas.

    • oh absolutely, but it’s just a google pic. I’m too lazy to take and then upload. I just search until I find one that is close to how mine recipe looked done. Cooking by passion is so fun. You surprise yourself sometimes! lol…best. !END

Leave a comment