Grapes of Not Wrath Salad

grapeOkay, I ran into this on Facebook. And I thought, wow, that looks like it’s both easy and pretty darn tasty. Assuming you like grapes, which I do.

So, as I was poking around, it seemed to me, that everybody knew all about this salad and I was the only one who was going “wow what a great idea!”

So I’m a little slow and perhaps have led a sheltered life.

And all the recipes are about the same, which is good because I have no clue who to thank anyway.

So here are the basics. Kid super friendly! I suspect you can make this way less fattening if you use all the non-fat and sugar-free stuff.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 lbs of grapes. Mix and match for a prettier effect. I use the red and black Concords mostly.
  • 4 oz of cream cheese, room temp
  • 1/2 c sour cream
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar or honey
  • 1 c pecans, walnuts or any nut or seed you like
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Clean the grapes and spread out on paper towelling to dry thoroughly. You don’t want to use wet grapes as your dressing will become watery and very unattractive.
  2. Mix the sour cream, cream cheese, sugar, honey and extract together until combined.
  3. Dump on the grapes and mix gently so as not to rupture grapes but to get all covered nicely.
  4. Sprinkle with the nuts. Don’t mix in, they will just get soft.

SERVES: 8

SOURCE: Sherry Peyton

 

Leave a Reply

