Lemon Chicken Kissed with Lemon Butter

This is just a lovely lovely recipe, and it came out so very well. I have packed most of my cookbooks and so couldn’t grab my Rao’s recipe for lemon chicken, so I created my own. And I was quite pleased with it.

My husband is not a big fan of fruit with his meat, and although I reassured him that citrus was different from sweet fruit, he still was skeptical.

So I tried to soften the chicken a bit.

However, the sauce is quite tart, and I loved it. (I put it on everything frankly!)

See what you think.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 chicken thighs (obviously you can use any pieces you like here)
  • 1 tsp oregano and thyme each
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 c EVOO
  • 1/2 c fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp finely minced shallots
  • 1 lg clove garlic, micro-planed
  • 4 tbsp butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/8 c parsley, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Early in the day, pat the chicken pieces dry and place in a dish, sprinkling the salt, pepper, oregano, and thyme over.
  2. Refrigerate uncovered.
  3. When ready to cook, place the chicken in a smallish casserole where the pieces are fairly crowded. Pour the olive oil over, and then the lemon juice.
  4. Place in a 375° oven for 1 hour.
  5. Remove the chicken to a baking dish that has a cooling rack in it. Place back in the oven with broiler on, and broil for about 15 minutes or until very nicely browned and crispy on top. Remove to a serving plate 
  6. Pour off the juices from the baking dish into a saute pan with the shallots and the garlic. Bring to a boil and reduce by about half. You should have about 1/2 cup left
  7. Add the butter and whisk vigorously. Add the parsley, stirring in.
  8. Place in a gravy boat with ladle. (this will separate as it cools, so use quickly) Use as desired.  

Serves: 2

NOTE: This serves well with mashed potatoes, if you like the lemon sauce as a light gravy. It’s wonderful with vegetables like green beans, broccoli, and asparagus, brussels,  which all naturally take to lemon well. Also rice or noodles would work. I did not marinate the chicken before hand, in order to keep down the lemon bite a bit. As it was, it was just tangy without being overbearing. My husband really liked it, though he backed off the lemon butter sauce except for just a little drizzle.  

4 thoughts on “Lemon Chicken Kissed with Lemon Butter

  1. What a lovely blog you have here! Thank you for including mine in your related articles. I look forward to following your posts and trying out some of your lemony recipes as well!

  2. Pingback: Chicken Fricassee / Hønsefrikassé | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a comment