Certainly Cottage Cheese Pie!

pie2Yes, I said cottage cheese.

I’m sure this is a very old recipe. I’m sure farm women have made this pie forever. It was cheap. It was easy.

I ran across this and just had to make it. I made it as directed. The taste was fabulous but I was not keen on the texture. As I was perusing photographs, most seemed creamy so I looked up other recipes for this pie, and lo and behold, I had the answer.

You can make it both ways.

Confused.

Read on, I’ll explain.

INGREDIENTS:

  • One pie crust recipe for a single crust pie.
  • 2 c cottage cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 c sugar
  • zest from about 1/2 of a lemon and 1 tbsp juice
  • 1/4 c heavy cream
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Make your bottom crust as usual, refrigerate while preparing the filling.
  2. Place the cottage cheese in a food process and whirr until smooth. (you can omit this step. Your pie will taste the same but you will texturally “feel” the curds which to me was simple bizarre.
  3. Add the eggs and cream to a medium bowl and whisk until eggs are well incorporated.
  4. Add the flour and whisk in well.
  5. Add the balance of the ingredients except the nutmeg.
  6. Pour into the pie crust. Sprinkle with the nutmeg.
  7. Bake at 350° for about 40 minutes or until center is set but still a bit jiggly.
  8. Cook and then refrigerate.

SERVES: 8

NOTES: this is similar to a custard pie. A fruit compote or sauce would be excellent. You can omit the nutmeg, especially if you are using fruit to complement. The pie is definitely more “chewy” if you don’t puree the curds. Up to you.

SOURCE: Adapted from Serious Eats

OVEN 350°

COOKING TIME: 40 minutes

 

7 thoughts on “Certainly Cottage Cheese Pie!

  1. Thanks, Sherry.
    I’m almost tempted to use ricotte which I think has a better texture than cottage cheese. I would also use your idea of the food processor (or blender?).
    Alice

    AA

    • I suspect ricotta would be fine. I thought about using the blender or processor and checked other recipes and found out they had done so, so next time, so will I. !END

  2. Pingback: Foodie Fridays | Cottage Pie… with a Twist | Shining Like Silver

Leave a comment