Another Pie Crust

PieCrustI’ve been having a terrible time with pie crust since we moved to Las Cruces. I have no clue why, but my tried and true just breaks badly for me.

I found this recipe and it worked pretty darn well, and well, I tweaked it to suit my own limited baking abilities and it produced.

This recipe makes just the bottom crust, so double if you need a top crust.

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 cups (7 1/2 ounces) all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 ounces cream cheese (chilled, cubed)
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter (chilled, cubed)
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Place the flour and baking powder into a food processor and pulse a few times to mix
  2. Add the cream cheese, pulse about 8 times.
  3. Add the butter and pulse another 8 times. (coarse peas)
  4. Add the cream, vanilla extract and cider vinegar.
  5. Pulse 10 times or so until the dough pulls away from the sides. Stop.
  6. Remove from the machine.
  7. Place on a floured surface (I use a pastry cloth)
  8. Working quickly, roll out to the desired shape.
  9. Place it in the pie tin and flute the edges as you desire.
  10. Cover with some plastic and put in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.
  11. Use as the recipe dictates, either bake  (400° for 20 minutes) or put in the filling and bake as directed.

SERVES: 8 slices

NOTES: I found that rolling it out first rather than refrigerating let me get the darn thing rolled properly and it didn’t bust all up on me. I am told the vinegar tenderizes the dough. The taste was fine. You could no doubt add some sugar if you want a sweeter crust.

SOURCE: Adapted from Serious Eats.

 

5 thoughts on “Another Pie Crust

  1. That sounds great. Lots of fat to make it crisp. I agree that rolling out first and then chilling would make a difference. I, too, have trouble chilling first and then rolling out. I would blind bake this crust – definitely for a one crust pie and for a shorter time for a two-crust pie. I found a new recipt recently for a great crust using vodka.

  2. Pingback: Ruby Rhubarb Pie | What's On the Stove?

  3. Pingback: Certainly Cottage Cheese Pie! | What's On the Stove?

  4. Pingback: A Peach of a Pie | What's On the Stove?

  5. Pingback: Hoosier Sweet Cream Pie | What's On the Stove?

Leave a Reply

