Casual Cornbread

There are two types of cornbread as you probably know, Southern and Northern.

While I like Southern and do make it occasionally, I tend to favor Northern. Northern is, more cake-like, lighter in texture, and a bit sweet. I find it more versatile, and I love, as you know, versatile recipes.

This is my standard go-to recipe from Joy of Cooking.

By the way, it freezes beautifully, so do make a full recipe. I use it for my regular dressing every holiday time, and find it really nice that I don’t have to bake up a new batch.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/4 c stone-ground (if you can) cornmeal
  • 3/4 c AP flour
  • 1-4 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 salt
  • 2 lg eggs
  • 2/3 c milk
  • 2/3 c buttermilk
  • 2-3 tbsp melted butter

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Whisk together all the dry ingredients
  2. In another bowl, whisk together the eggs and milks.
  3. Add the wet to the dry.
  4. Add the melted butter and just stir in.
  5. Pour into a greased 9 x 9 pan or in a muffin pan (12)
  6. Place in a 425° pre-heated oven for 20-25 minutes in the square pan or 10-12 minutes in the muffin tin.

Serves: at least 9 large pieces

Notes: There are lots of additions you can make. Add a cup of corn, or a chopped up jalapeño. Or add a few fried and crumbled bacon slices. Or add a cup of cheddar cheese or Pepper Jack. Add sweet roasted red peppers chopped. Actually, you can add spices like cinnamon and nutmeg coupled with raisins and chopped nuts, and make a desert cake out of it. Substitute the sugar for syrup or honey, or add other herbs for a savory bent, such as sage or thyme.

Goes really well with chili and other tomato based soups, and is a component of some dressings.  

3 thoughts on “Casual Cornbread

  1. I adore, adore cornbread – the Northern kind, though! Yes, it’s got to resemble cake. I don’t care if I’m eating it with chili, I want it sweet! It’s a dessert and a bread group!

  2. Pingback: A Pie of a Tamale | What's On the Stove?

Leave a comment