Squashy Corny, Oniony Casserole

I lost the link I had for this recipe, but it’s fairly simple so I can recreate if fine for you.

If you like squash, and I do.

If you like corn, and I do.

If you like onions, and I do.

You will really like this side dish.

And it goes so nicely with any meat.

And it would be a nice dish for Thanksgiving or Christmas.

Need any more reasons to give it a go?

Didn’t think so.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 lg sweet potatoes (also works with any kind of squash such as butternut, buttercup, etc)
  • 1 1/2 c of corn, (frozen, fresh, canned)
  • 1 lg onion, sliced
  • 4-6 tbsp of butter
  • 1/2 c heavy cream

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Place the potatoes on a foil-lined cookie sheet along with the corn (if fresh) and roast until done and nicely scorched here and there. If using fresh corn, the corn won’t take as long as the sweet potatoes or squash. Oil the corn before hand. The squash can be unpeeled at this point and cut into chunks, depending on size to speed up the cooking. The squash should take about 50 minutes while the corn about 30.
  2. If using frozen or canned corn, use a tablespoon or two of the butter and saute until just a bit of browning occurs. Set aside.
  3. Slice the onions and saute until golden on medium low with about 2 tbsp of the butter.
  4. Once the squash is done, peel and place in a bowl. Add 3 tbsp of butter, salt and pepper and the cream. Mash as you would regular potatoes.
  5. Add the corn and the onions. Mix gently and serve.

Serves: 4-6

 

 

2 thoughts on “Squashy Corny, Oniony Casserole

  1. Pingback: Potato Casserole | familyrecipebooks

  2. This was so amazing! I used 2 acorn squash. I also had to make it vegan, so I used coconut milk and omitted the butter. Seasoned with salt and pepper…..even my 3 and 4 yr old sons ate it without complaints! Thanks!

Leave a comment