Old Wishbone “French” Dressing Knock-off

frenchdressingOkay, I have a confession.

I am very much a champion of making your own salad dressings. Any casual look down the list of ingredients on the typical bottled varieties, suggests that there are a whole lot of stuff I’ve never heard of as a “food” in those bottles.

But I confess, that once in a while, I get such a hankering for that old Wishbone “French” dressing, you know, the orange stuff, that I succumb and buy a bottle. It is the crap I grew up on when every bottled, boxed “food” was the rage in the 50’s and 60’s.

So I happened upon this recipe, and although it doesn’t exactly look the part, the taste is remarkably the same. Most so-called “french” recipes (meaning American French, since the actual French have never heard of such stuff) seem to depend on ketchup for their main ingredient. This one doesn’t, in fact there is nary a tomato in it.

Anyway, I liked it a lot, and it will serve to eradicate my some-time addiction to that stuff in the bottle.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 eggs, coddled (meaning place them in a slow boiling water, for 1 minute and then place in ice water to stop the cooking)
  • ½ cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 cup canola or vegetable oil

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. The eggs are coddled because of concerns with bacteria. A lot of people don’t do this, and you can do as you wish.
  2. Place all the ingredients except the oil in a food processor or blender. Blend until things are well mixed.
  3. Then, as the machine is going, slowly drizzle the oil, continuing until all is used and the mixture is thickened.
  4. Note: this mixture will seem watery, but after sitting for a while it will thicken up.
  5. Keep in the fridge until used.

SERVES: 2 cups

NOTES: I usually find that these things keep a good month, but you could half this recipe fairly easily if you would like to make less.

SOURCE: A Family Feast who adapted it from the Silver Palate Cookbook

One thought on “Old Wishbone “French” Dressing Knock-off

  1. Sherry, I used to love the old Green Goddess dressing – probably Wishbone or one of those brands – I found one called Green Goddess in the store (some other brand that I hadn’t heard of) but it didn’t taste as I remembered it. You wouldn’t happen to have come up with one for that one, would you?

Leave a comment