Tangy Tartar Sauciness

You can call me lazy.

Aww, that wouldn’t be at all nice.

But I am. Which means I don’t really make ravioli. Or other picky things. I’m not much for cupcakes either.

But I do make tartar sauce, on the rare occasion that I can force myself to all the work involved in making fish and chips. The real deal fish and chips.

Now I used to make a really basic tartar sauce, but I’ve become more sophisticated. So this is the one I made today. And frankly it ain’t half bad. And I have a few other ideas which I threw down in the notes.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2/3 c mayonnaise
  • 1/3 c sweet pickles, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon lemon or lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tablespoon hot sauce of your choice

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Mix it all together.

Serves: 4

NOTE: consider adding some grated onion, dill pickles or capers to the mix. I might go for that for a more elegant piece of fish, one that is sautéed and not deep-fried with a breading.

 

2 thoughts on “Tangy Tartar Sauciness

  1. Hi Sherry. Love your site and your recipes. As a former native from the Detroit area I can’t wait to try your Lafayette Coney Sauce recipe!!!

    As for the Tartar Sauce, a couple of tips that works for me are using sweet pickle relish in place of chopping up the sweet pickle (just a timesaver). Another thing that works well for me is grating up about a 1/4 cup of carrot which adds a touch of sweetness to the sauce.

    Thanks again for the great site!

    • those are interesting additions to the tartar sauce…I hope you like the coney sauce. I found it was really quite close to what I remember…:) !END

Leave a comment