Easy Perfect Chicken Stock

pressure-cooker-chicken-stock-1Now, I know I’m losing some of you already. Why mess with making homemade stock when you can get very good stock in the grocery store. I agree, you can, and I do use it all the time.

I use way more stock than I could ever make unless I made stock every week, and I’m not going to do that.

But and it’s a big BUT, a particular dish cries for it, and it is homemade chicken noodle soup. It is so worth it for that dish and that dish alone.

So, when I am using a whole chicken, I cut out the backbone and place it in a little freezer bag and throw it in the freezer. And when I do wings, I cut off all the tips and do the same. And after a few months, I have a couple of pounds of this stuff which is perfect for stock making. The rest is a piece of cake.

You should have at least two pounds, but 3-4 would be better. Two pounds will get you about 3 cups, and you probably want about 5 cups for your soup. So save!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2-4 lbs of chicken bones, backs and wing tips, ribs if you filet a bone in breast.
  • 1/2 lg onion
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 rib celery
  • bouquet garni composed of parsley, thyme, oregano, rosemary (all fresh please)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 10 peppercorns, smashed

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Take a cleaver and smack all your bones, cutting into them or cutting them into smaller pieces. The more surface area of bone that is broken open, the better. Throw in a large pot.
  2. Quarter the onion, chunk up the carrot and celery. All this will be thrown out so don’t worry about size.
  3. Throw in the bouquet garni (if you don’t have fresh, then add 1/2 tsp dried of any you don’t have)
  4. Add the salt and peppercorns.
  5. Add enough water to just cover the stuff. Place a smaller plate and then a weight on top of it to keep everything submerged.
  6. Cover and bring to low boil, and then reduce to a simmer.
  7. Simmer a couple of hours. You can tell when you have extracted all the goodness from the bones when the bones start to disintegrate when you press one hard with the back of a spoon.
  8. Strain and cool and refrigerate or continue with your recipe. You can chill and  skim the fat that will congeal at the top if you like.

SERVES: 2-3 cups

NOTES: You can freeze this in a variety of ways. By the cup in freezer bags laid flat works nicely. Also in the ice-cube trays (which I find a waste of time). It will store in the fridge for a few days.

SOURCE: Sherry Peyton

 

7 thoughts on “Easy Perfect Chicken Stock

  1. I agree, homemade stock is needed for proper chicken noodle soup. My godmother long ago gave me her secret, which is to freeze the drippings from every single chicken dish, so that when you’re making stock, you have an assortment of flavors and aromas. (And she’d agree to most of what you’ve written here, because it’s the RIGHT way, lol.) The storebought sort cannot compete with amount of flavor from herb and spice — which is what I think makes chicken soup so healing, or at least comforting.

  2. I want to make stock on a regular basis but I don’t as of now. Something I’ve been wanting to try is tossing the bones, etc with oilve oil and roasting them before making the stock to add another level of depth. Have you ever tried this? I am curious to try.

    • It’s the common procedure to make beef stock for sure. I’ve never heard of it done with chicken, perhaps because the bones are so much smaller? But I’d sure give it a try! 🙂 !END

    • absolutely right…it’s pretty darn easy, but I find a good stock without salt is okay for most things. I don’t have the time to make enough of it anyway, similar to not baking a lot of bread either. I do from time to time for fun but rely on bakery bread most of the time. !END

  3. Pingback: Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup | What's On the Stove?

Leave a Reply

