Cheddar Cheese Sauce

IMG_8242Oh cheddar cheese sauce, I do love thee. Let me count the ways.

Oh, well that could take all day.

What I don’t like is CheeseWiz, or that detestable crap called Velveeta. I mean the latter just tastes awful. I have tried it, I have I swear. I have thrown stuff out because it tastes like wallpaper paste with #3 yellow food coloring.

Soo.

The problem with making a traditional roux white sauce and then dumping in shredded cheddar, is that when heated, it separates into an oily mess. Very unappetizing.

But then I found this recipe, which solves that problem and makes a delightful, smooth gorgeous cheese sauce. And it’s very easy. Big plus. Do try. Perfect for homemade nachos, and daaarling, nachos must be homemade!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 oz cheddar cheese (I use sharp or extra sharp) shredded
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 12 oz can of evaporated milk
  • a good shot of hot sauce (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Heat the milk until it just comes to a boil.
  2. Take off the heat and stir in the cornstarch.
  3. Stir and return to heat until it thickens nicely.
  4. Turn off the heat and add the cheese, stirring until melted.
  5. Add the hot sauce and stir again.

SERVES: 2 cups

NOTES: Perfect for nachos, or over any vegetable that has been steamed crisp. Also will work beautifully with mac and cheese. You will see the difference when you reheat leftovers.

SOURCE: Serious Eats

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cheddar Cheese Sauce

  1. Pingback: Philly Cheese Steak | What's On the Stove?

Leave a Reply

