Chocolate Mint Poke Cake

Mint-Poke-CakeI know there are a lot of people out there that work hard to “make desserts healthy.”

I say, heck, it’s dessert. If you are going to indulge, well, INDULGE.

This is definitely an indulge dessert.

Poke cakes say, start with a delicious cake and then ramp it up.

This definitely does that.

It is divine.

INGREDIENTS:

  • One two layer cake. You can use a boxed cake, but I think that’s bad. Make your own if you can.
  • 1 – 14.5 oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 – 12.8 oz jar Hershey’s Special Hot Fudge Sauce
  • 3/4 of a box of mint cookies. I used Anna’s Chocolate Mint Thins. You can use any you like.
  • 1 – 16 oz container cool whip, refrigerated until soft, or 2 cups whipping cream, and 2 tbsp sugar,  beat into stiff peaks
  • 1/2 teaspoon Mint Extract.
  • About 1 c of chocolate mint candy. Andes is one variety, but any will do.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Prepare and bake the cake mix in a 9×13 baking dish. Allow to cool completely.
  2. Poke holes every couple of inches around the entire cake.
  3. Pour the can of sweetened condensed milk over the cake. Because it is so gooey, much will not sink into the holes, so just spread around as best you can.
  4. Warm up the hot fudge in a warm pan of water or the microwave whatever you wish. It makes it easier to spread.
  5. Spread the mint cookies, broken up, over the condensed milk. This will make it easier to spread the hot fudge.
  6. Spread the fudge sauce over the cake.
  7. In a bowl, mix the whipped cream or Cool whip with the mint extract.
  8. Spread the whipped topping over the fudge layer.
  9. Top off with the broken up candies.
  10. Refrigerate until fully chilled.

SERVES: 10

NOTES: You can make this as a layer cake if you wish, but it’s got a lot of toppings so it might be a bit unruly that way. Make sure you 9 x 13 is deep. This just barely fits in a standard baking dish. Also don’t worry extensively on the cookies or candies. Mint is the key. I used some thin mint cookies that essentially disappeared as a “crunch” factor which is okay, the taste is what you are after. I also used a plain mint chocolate because I couldn’t find the Andes. It turned out fine.

SOURCE: Adapted from We Call Him Yes! Chef!

UPDATE: The blogger from the above source objected that she didn’t think that I had adapted “enough” so I of course pointed her to a host of other similar recipes commonly called Grasshopper poke cake, listing the ingredients shockingly in exactly the same order as the blogger from We Call Him. . . . She also objected to her photo being used without giving her proper credit. I have replaced it. We live upon this earth a small time. Amazing that people must quibble about such small things.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Mint Poke Cake

  1. I couldn’t find a place to contact you privately about the above recipe and picture, so I decided to comment here. I follow your blog and even though I appreciate the fact that you like my recipe and my photo, the recipe is in no way “adapted”. You used my recipe word for word aside from saying that using a box cake mix is bad. It is not proper, and could be considered a copyright violation, to use someone else’s photo without permission. I would appreciate it if you would give me the photo credit and provide a link back to my recipe. http://callhimyeschef.com/2013/06/12/give-your-loved-ones-a-poke-chocolate-mint-poke-cake-that-is/

    • Whoa, I guess you are pretty much unaware that these recipes are like everywhere. I did adapt your recipe since I gave links to making a cake instead of opening a box. I also in the notes changed the cookies I used, and the chocolate mints. I gave you credit. I’m more than happy to change the photo, and I’m more than happy to not use another of your recipes since you are this catty about it. If you bothered to look around you will find that most recipes are not original but can be found everywhere, sometimes exactly the same without any indication that they got it from anyone. So…enjoy. In fact I’ll change it some more and be done. Have a good day with your pettiness.

      • I have always enjoyed reading your blog and, sincerely, I was not trying to be petty. I see that you gave me credit for the adaptation. I thank you for that. Generally, it’s common to give a link back. ( I, unfortunately, learned the hard way by doing something similar, even though I gave her a link back to her page and recipe, she demanded that I remove her recipe and instead giving only a link so that she would get the appropriate credit and traffic.) You are so right about the cakes being everywhere and I wouldn’t have said anything about it if you had not used my photo. I’m sorry if my comments offended you, but I’m a photographer, by trade, and I have my photos used without permission frequently. I work very hard on my photography, so I guess I’m a little touchy about that.

      • And I was unfairly snarky and I do apologize. I recognize from following your blog that you do the photography. I can understand wanting credit. Sorry again for being unnecessarily snotty. I should have let it be, dealt with some neighborhood issues first and then calmly addressed this. Instead of I let some frustrations with negligent dog care contribute to my response to you. !END

    • You might want to look under “grasshopper poke cake” where the first recipe I pulled up had your EXACT same ingredients in the EXACT same order. Fancy that.

Leave a Reply

