South of Southern Cornbread

I’m a Northern gal and I do like my northern cornbread. It’s sweeter and I enjoy eating it for breakfast.

But I do like a southern cornbread and it works best I think for my Italian cornbread regular bread combo dressing, which is my favorite holiday dressing.

So I find a good reason (chili is a great excuse) to make me up a pan and then I freeze about half to use at the holidays. Smart huh?

Anyway, this is the kind you bake in a cast iron skillet. And you MUST have a cast iron skillet because they are SO useful. I love cast iron, and have a huge old pot I make my chile in too, and my arroz com pollo.

This recipe is from Simply Recipes.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 c cornmeal or 1 1/2 c cornmeal and 1/2 c flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar (optional)
  • 1 1/4 c buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 6 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 tbsp bacon drippings

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Place the bacon fat in a 9 or 10 inch cast iron skillet and place in the oven. Preheat the oven to 400°, with the skillet inside.
  2. Whisk together all the dry ingredients.
  3. In a separate bowl beat the egg and buttermilk together until blended, then add to the dry ingredients.
  4. Add the melted butter.
  5. Take the skillet out with mitts and pour the batter into the pan.
  6. Bake for about 20 minutes or until edges are browning and the center is toothpick clean.
  7. Let sit for a few minutes before cutting into wedges.

Serves: 8

NOTES: as usual, add jalapeños or fresh or frozen/canned corn to the batter to liven things up. Crispy  bacon crumbled up would also be a fun addition to the batter. I’d say about 4 slices would be grand. Corn? about a cup. Jalapeños? Oh as much as you can handle! Cheddar cheese? Please, now you want it don’t you?

Leave a Reply

