Champion Corn Salsa

 

 

This is a meal in itself.

At least it is to me, for as I often have said, I love corn. I am always on the lookout for a recipe that features corn, and sometimes, well, it seems to make itself.

I didn’t find it too difficult to create a corn salsa. All the usual suspects are here, but I don’t put tomato in mine, not because I don’t adore corn and tomatoes, for I do, but that the tomato is juicy and it takes it toll on this dish as a leftover. So I keep it drier and thus palatable for a bit longer this way.

Not that it lasts very long.

It is a great accompaniment to any grilled meat.

So before the summer is completely gone, do give this a try. You can make this as spicy or as mild as your taste dictates, but for me? Oh spicy please!

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2-3 ears fresh corn (frozen and canned can be used too but it won’t be quite as lusciously good!) About 2 -3 cups
  • 1/3 c finely diced red onion
  • 1/3 – 1/2 c finely diced sweet red pepper
  • 1-2 jalapeños, finely chopped (seeds and membranes removed if you choose)
  • 1/2 c loosely packed chopped cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/8 c olive oil (EVOO)
  • 1/4 c lime juice and about a tsp of zest

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. If using fresh corn, rub with olive oil, and place under broiler, rolling as necessary letting it char here and there. Let cool, and then cut kernels off the cob.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients, stir and refrigerate a couple of hours to let the flavors meld.

Serves: 8 as a side condiment

NOTE: some like to add black beans to this to make it more of a side salad. You could also add cucumber, but that deteriorates more quickly I find too.

 

Leave a Reply

