Real Buttermilk Dressing

I was at the super market the other day, and needed to buy some buttermilk for a recipe. I over estimated how much I needed, and was happy to realize that the overage was about perfect to make some nice Buttermilk Ranch dressing.

Now I have another Ranch dressing, which is wonderful, but I thought this one was more like the Hidden Valley type, without all that crap they put in their powdery mix.

And it whips up in a second. Just pick up a 1/2 pint of buttermilk next time you are shopping. I should explain that you can make buttermilk (tip page), but it’s still quite thin I find, and so I prefer to use regular buttermilk for this dressing.

Oh, this recipe comes from Joy of Cooking, one of my couple of food bibles!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2/3 c of buttermilk (I used a whole cup, cuz that’s what 1/2 a pint is)
  • 1 lg clove of garlic, micro-planed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2-3 tbsp fresh lime juice (please use real limes!)
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh chives, or minced green parts of scallions
  • Up to 1/2 c mayonnaise if you want to thicken it up.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Mix it all together.
  2. Let sit in fridge for a few hours for the dressing to thicken a bit, and flavors to meld.

Serves: 1 cup 

5 thoughts on “Real Buttermilk Dressing

  1. Pingback: Ranch Dressing Seasoning Mix | Suburbhomestead's Blog

  2. Pingback: March Madness Insanity Sub Sammie | What's On the Stove?

  3. Pingback: Buttermilk – Who Knew? « Cindy Holman's Blog

  4. I just made this, but I didn’t use fresh spices or lime. It was delicious! I can’t wait to make it with fresh ingredients. Thank you!

    • I am so happy you liked it. I have eliminated bottled or dry mixes for dressing. They are simply too easy to make fresh and so much better I think. Bless ya!

Leave a Reply

