Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake

As you may have guessed, I like sweets for breakfast. I am much more a donut person than a scrambled egg or oatmeal person. Not to say that I don’t enjoy those things too, but on par, I awaken with a sweet tooth.

Years upon years ago, I used to make a coffee cake that I found on the back of my box of Bisquick. And I liked it very much.

Some years ago, I stopped buying Bisquick, figuring that I could mix flour and baking powder all by myself, thank you, and not pay the extra premium price for having some machine do it.

So I lost track of this recipe, which doesn’t purport to be THAT recipe, but sure tastes a lot like I remember it.

And I owe it all to Maryann Hickey, and her recipe, which I have changed in only one respect, which was to substitute butter for margarine, which I also don’t use.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 c milk
  • 3 c flour, sifted
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 3-4 tbsp melted butter

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cream together the butter and eggs, and then add the sugar and beat until smooth. Add the milk and mix
  2. Put the dry ingredients of flour, baking powder, and salt together, whisking (note: I use a medium sieve to “sift” my flour, having long ago left my sifter behind)
  3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix well.
  4. Prepare the streusel topping
  5. Put half the batter into a 9 x 13 pan that has been greased and floured. Sprinkle half of the streusel topping over the top. Then add the rest of the batter and the other half of the streusel.
  6. Place in a pre-heated 375° oven for 35-40 until skewer comes out clean.

Serves: at least 12 pieces

One thought on “Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

