Chick-Ling Spaghetti Parmesan

That’s what rich people call Chicken Tetrazzini. Or at least I imagine they call it something pretentious like that. And I like my food to have high-sounding names, so that’s what I decided upon.

And even though my recipe is “informed” by many thousands before me, I did create it, if one could be said to create a recipe after being “informed”  by many thousands. So mine, has an extra teaspoon of cheese, or a tablespoon less celery. So sue me. If you hold the patent to Chicken Tetrazzini that is.

Otherwise, read on, and try it if it seems to call to you. Not that it will actually, call. But if your stomach rumbles, I’d take that as a sign.

I love to cook in the morning, and casseroles often lend themselves to early prep and then later cooking. This one does, so if that is your thing, you’re welcome. 🙂

And do feel most free to adjust the veggie content as you desire. I am nearing the end of the month, haven’t been to the store in weeks, and have very little in the way of fresh veggies left, so I did a bunch of frozen. It is versatile in that way, as many casseroles are.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 chicken breast, bone-in and split. (if you MUST buy some already cooked)
  • 1/2 lb linguine
  • 2 cups of veggies of your choice. I used celery, onion, mushrooms, lima beans, corn and peas.
  • 1/3 c roasted red peppers (I used jarred)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 1 c parmesan cheese
  • 1 c fresh breadcrumbs
  • 3 tbsp butter, melted

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Salt and pepper the chicken, place in a roasting pan and roast at 400° for 1 hour.
  2. While that is baking, chop up your veggies and steam until fork tender, but still with a bit of bite.
  3. In a saucepan, melt the butter, add the flour and whisk for about one minute. Add warmed milk, stir, and bring to a soft boil, stirring until thickened. Add the nutmeg, and cheese, and a bit of salt and pepper.
  4. When chicken is done and cooled to handle, debone, and chop into dice.
  5. Cook linguine. (I snapped the pasta in half and then each half in half so it would mix better)
  6. When all is done, drain the linguine to a large bowl, add the veggies, the roasted red pepper and chicken. Mix. When incorporated, pour the bechamel/parmesan sauce. Mix thoroughly and pour into a baking dish.
  7. Cover the top with fresh breadcrumbs and then sprinkle with melted butter (I do this right before I pop it into the oven)
  8. Bake at 325° for 40 minutes if doing continuously, for 1 hour if you have put the casserole together earlier in the morning (I leave mine on the stove)

Serves: 5-6

One thought on “Chick-Ling Spaghetti Parmesan

  1. Pingback: day 49: cooking it up/ baked chicken parmesan casserole, a hit! « ipinterest

Leave a Reply

