Kiss the Cook Scalloped Potatoes

My mother is a good cook, but she did not teach cooking. I watched, and mostly I remembered and/or worked out the better recipes. But when it came to scalloped potatoes, well I never got it. She had the casserole composed before I got home from school, so I missed something.

Now I know what I missed. Not enough butter, and not cooking it long enough. Anyway, now I have it thanks to the wonderful recipe submitted on JustaPinch by Jane McMillan.

It is perfect in every way. And it’s wonderfully adaptable as a good recipe should be.

This is not a precise recipe, few are, but get the proportions fairly right, and it will turn out just fine. I’ll give you some hints to change it up at the end.

I reduced the recipe to a more manageable amount for two people with still plenty of left-overs.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 lg potatoes (I think bakers are best), peeled or not, and very thinly sliced.
  • 1 med to small onion, also sliced very thinly.
  • 2/3 c of flour
  • 1/2 tsp paprika (just sprinkle it on)
  • 1/2 tsp each, salt and pepper (again just sprinkle away)
  • 1 c milk, give or take
  • 3 tbsp butter

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Butter a 2 qt baking casserole and turn on oven to 350°
  2. Peel or not your potatoes and thinly slice, along with your onion.
  3. Layer 1/3 of the potatoes and 1/3 of the onions. Add 1/2 of the flour and butter.
  4. Layer 1/3 of the potatoes, and 1/3 of the onions. Add the balance of the flour and butter.
  5. Layer the last of the potatoes and onions.
  6. Pour milk along the side until when you press down on the potatoes firmly, you can just see milk almost to the top layer.
  7. Cover with foil and seal firmly. Bake in oven for 1 hour.
  8. Remove the foil and bake another hour.

Serves: 4

Now comes the fun part: you can do all kinds of fun things here like adding hot peppers, or sweet peppers. Add garlic. Then go wild with cheese, any type, with our without peppers. Just follow your instincts. Add crumbled bacon. Or ham.  Add fresh herbs of your liking. Add chopped spring onions. Leeks!  Make it a new creation each time.

2 thoughts on “Kiss the Cook Scalloped Potatoes

  1. I am just another Just a Pinch member looking at your blog. Very nicely done. I enjoyed your articles and will be back, as I have signed up for your news letter.

    I also enjoyed your feedback on making this dish and also the other ones!
    Thank you for posting.

    • Thanks for you kind words. JAP is so much fun, and I’ve gotten some great recipes there. I hope you enjoy the recipes, both mine and those I’ve made that I have added to my menu list. Certainly give any tips or ideas you might have!

Leave a Reply

