Snuggle Up and Eat Bacon-Mac Stew

My mother used to make this.

Frankly, I’ve never see it anywhere else. Which doesn’t mean nobody makes it.

But I couldn’t find a really good picture. This is a decent approximation.

It’s truly comfort food for me. But I love bacon, and I love tomatoes, and I love pasta. So that accounts for that.

If you like these things, then this is a quick easy recipe you can make in the morning, and let sit all day. And heat up and finish off in less than 30 minutes.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 lb bacon, cut into 1 in pieces
  • 1 quart of tomatoes, (4 cups) chopped (canned or fresh)
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 cups cooked macaroni
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cook the bacon about half way through and remove with a slotted spoon.
  2. Cook the onion until translucent and softened.
  3. Add the tomatoes and return the bacon to the pot.
  4. Add salt if needed and the pepper.
  5. Simmer on low for about 30 minutes, and shut off.
  6. About an hour before eating, cook the macaroni, and drain.
  7. Add it to the tomatoes and simmer on low for 30 minutes. Check often, as the macaroni can suck up the juice. Add water to keep it wet.

Serves: 4

** For me the real key here is the pepper. I usually add even more at the table.

 

Leave a Reply

