Fusion Chicken-Corn Chowder

I am a good soup maker. I’m not sure what that means, since soup is fairly forgiving. Amounts are not set in stone. You can add or subtract a lot.

Still, after trying to find the “perfect” chicken-corn chowder, I thought about something Rachael said, and something Alton taught, and a couple of things from Justapinch, and then I let my mind roam around and mixed it all up.

And I fixed it.

And he ate it.

And he pronounced it “Good!”

This recipe is strange, and combines visions of East-West, North-South. And it ain’t bad I tell ya. You could do a lot worse!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4-6 slices bacon, chopped
  • 4 chicken thighs
  • 1 lg leek
  • 1 lg carrot
  • 2 ribs celery
  • 2 jalapeños, diced (with or without the seeds)
  • 3 cloves garlic, microplaned
  • 1 tsp salt (less if you use salted stock)
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp thyme (dried) if fresh, about 2 tbsp.
  • 3 c chicken stock
  • 2 slices of orange peel, minced (about 1 1/2 tbsp)
  • 3 c corn
  • 2/3 c cream
  • About 3 cups cooked noodles

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a soup pot, saute the bacon until fat rendered and the bacon is crispy
  2. Add the chicken thighs and brown on both sides. (I use thighs because we like them, the debone easily once cooked, and the dark meat gives up more flavor)
  3. Remove the chicken and add the leeks, carrot, celery, and jalapeño. Saute until softened.
  4. Add the herbs and spices and then the stock. Add  the chicken and orange zest.
  5. Simmer until meat is done, about 40-45 minutes.
  6. Remove the meat to a separate dish to cool. Typically I make my soups in the morning, so I just turn it off, cover and let it sit until ready to finish it off near meal time.
  7. Take the meat off the bone and chop.
  8. Cook the noodles and drain.
  9. Either use an immersion blender, a food processor, or blender, whir up the soup base until fairly smooth. Add the corn. (I don’t whir up the corn, because the husks don’t break up and it makes for an unpleasant texture I find, so I add the corn at the end and leave it whole.
  10. Add the cream and stir. Add the chicken. Add the noodles.  Heat to serve.

Serves: about 6

One thought on “Fusion Chicken-Corn Chowder

Leave a Reply

