Asian Bacon Wrapped Chicken Breasts

This recipe comes direct and untouched from Elizabeth Handlon at JustaPinch.

I fixed this today for dinner and it turned out wonderfully. We really enjoyed it, and this will be part of my rotating menu forthwith.

I made a weird version of “dirty rice” to accompany it, which I’ll briefly describe. This would also work nicely as an appetizer finger food during game season.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 chicken breast, deboned, and cut into about 8 pieces
  • Enough bacon to wrap all the pieces in. (I used 1/2 lb)
  • BBQ sauce (she recommends Uncle Baby Ray’s sweet honey)
  • soy sauce
  • mustard powder
  • ginger powder
  • garlic powder
  • sesame seed oil
  • sugar to sweeten if you need it
  • (she suggests considering pineapple juice as a possibility as well)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Wrap the pieces of chicken with the bacon and saute until bacon is crisp. You can bake if you like.
  2. Mix the rest of ingredients. She does this by feel. I can say I used about 1/2 BBQ sauce, about 1/8 c soy, a tsp mustard, ginger, garlic, about 6 shakes of the sesame oil. And I didn’t use the sugar. My BBQ is sweet.
  3. Once the bacon is crispy, place in a small baking dish, best if they are kinda cramped which keeps the sauce on top.
  4. Cover with sauce, and bake for 20-30 min. at 350°.

As to the rice:

I simply used the same saute pan with the bacon drippings, sautéed one cup rice until a bit browned and toasty. Then I added 2 cups beef broth (cuz I had some open! chicken would be fine), covered and reduced until nearly absorbed. I then added a cup of green peas and a cup of corn, and heated through. Salt and Pepper to taste. We used the rice as a bed for the chicken.

Very nice meal.

Serves: 3 as to the chicken.

Leave a Reply

