Your Taco Hit My Won Ton!

 My husband and I ran into these at an Applebee’s in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  We thought they were amazing.

I figured that I could duplicate them reasonably well, and the recipe that follows is that attempt.

I’ve made them a good three times, and made them again today. Figured it was time to get it down so that I wouldn’t forget.

Also, the picture is from the Internet and doesn’t exactly represent mine, since I don’t get nice triangles. I’ll explain in the directions.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 lbs of pork meat suitable for shredding. I use boneless pork ribs. Frankly beef could also be used.
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup beef stock
  • 2/3-1 c favorite BBQ sauce
  • 1/2 head cabbage, shredded
  • 1/3 c mayonnaise
  • 1/8 c either rice wine vinegar or fresh lemon juice
  • dash of salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 TBSP sugar
  • 1/2 package of wonton wrappers. (freeze remaining-they thaw beautifully)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Salt and pepper the meat and place in heavy-duty pot with lid. Add the stock and simmer on low for about two hours or until the meat shreds easily. Remove from pot and cool, shred and add 2/3 to 1 cup your favorite BBQ sauce. We go for hotter sauces. Rewarm in low oven or in microwave before taking to the table.
  2. Make coleslaw. Shred the cabbage quite small. The slaw dressing is approximate. I like my coleslaw fairly dry. I use more than usual sugar here, since the meat is tangy and hot. This works as a good foil to that.
  3. Heat about 1-1/2 inches of canola oil in a small heavy-duty sauce pan. No need for the deep fryer here. When it is about 325° or so (sizzles when water droplets added), take each won ton and lay in the oil carefully. Take a spoon to push down as it rises, making a nice indention in the won ton to hold the food. Keep in the oil until lightly brown and crispy. Usually less than a minute.
  4. Drain each on paper towelling, until all are done.
  5. Place all three items on table and spoon meat in first and then the coleslaw. Die and go to heaven.

Serves: 4 as main course, probably at least 10 as an appetizer. I probably had about 15 wontons in all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

