Roasted Garlic Cilantro Jalapeno Hummus

I first discovered hummus when I lived in Detroit and lunched regularly in GreekTown. Ahh, what a delightful appetizer!

When I joined Justapinch, this is the first recipe I tried. Middle East, meet South West!

Mostly I loved the recipe, (which is why it’s included here) but I found it a bit bland and not very hot. (my jalepeño might have been a rare mild one). Other than that,  it was great.

I’m not sure why tahini, which is standard for hummus was not included. I sure think it would have no negative effect if you want to add it. So my only addition would be to make sure it gets a bit more heat from the chili (maybe a bit of chipotle?) and you can never have too much garlic!

Hope you enjoy it. Compliments of Jodie Scales at Justapinch.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cans garbanzo beans
  • 1 head of garlic, roasted
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 1 lg (or more) jalepeños, finely chopped
  • 1/4 tsp salt (Kosher or sea)
  • 1/4 bunch of cilantro chopped
  • 1/2 TBSP lemon juice (I would use more)
  • 1/4 c tahini if you wish

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Cut off the top of the garlic bulb and place in a small piece of foil. Drizzle with olive oil. Place in a 375° oven for 35-40 minutes. Open and let cool.
  2. Place all the rest into a food processor and blend until fairly smooth. Squeeze out the garlic into the bowl, and add the rough cut cilantro and pulse until mixed.
  3. Serve with raw veggies or pita bread, or taco chips (unsalted).

3 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic Cilantro Jalapeno Hummus

  1. Pingback: Snack Time #1- Edamame Hummus

    • Thomas, this is really a good recipe. It was the first one I tried on Justapinch, and I we ate it all! Great with veggies and crackers. Sorry you cant do the roasted garlic.

Leave a Reply

